Durham lead moves past 200 on Day Two

Durham lead moves past 200 on Day Two

Durham lead moves past 200 on Day Two

Chris Rushworth celebrates


Durham hold a 210 run lead over Somerset after Day Two of their LV= County Championship clash at the Emirates Durham ICG.

The hosts skittled out the visitors for just 132 as Chris Rushworth secured his best figures of his career taking six for 58 whilst being well supported by Graham Onions, who took four for 41.

Paul Collingwood's side struggled later in the day in tricky batting conditions as Somerset bowlers Peter Trego and Alfonso Thomas picked up three wickets apiece to leave Durham 92-8 at the close.



Durham got off to the perfect start on Day two as Onions removed former England opener Marcus Trescothick in the fifth over of the day for just six runs as he was caught at slip by Ben Stokes.

Arul Suppiah and James Hildreth quickly followed their captain back to the pavilion with the score at 39-3.

Jos Buttler and Craig Kieswetter put on a partnership of 42 before Rushworth snared the wicket of Kieswetter getting him caught at slip by Collingwood for 21, while Alex Barrow made only two before he was clean bowled by the 26-year-old.

Jamie Overton and Buttler took the score past 100, but Rushworth claimed his fifth wicket when he bowled the England international.

Onions returned to snag George Dockrell, but Rushworth finished the innings by getting rid of Steven Kirby to leave Somerset all out for 132, giving Collingwood's side a lead of 118.

Durham's reply got off to a bad start when Keaton Jennings, Mark Stoneman, Will Smith and Dale Benkenstein were all dismissed for single figures leaving the hosts on 20-4.

Stokes took the score the score past 50 before he fell to Thomas but some solid batting from Phil Mustard lifted Durham to lead of over 200, as bad light stopped play with the score at 92-8.

Day three will see the home side look to extend their lead over the visitors before turning their attentions to bowling as Durham look to wrap up their first win of 2013.